Music Series

Music in the Library

Sponsored by Friends of the Fallbrook Library

All Music Series events are held in the Library’s Community Room
Featured artists and performance dates and times vary!
No reservations necessary, seating is on a “first come” basis
Admission – FREE!



A Xmas Recital

Elegancia Doble with Naomi Hobbs and Yumiko Oyo,

assisted by Ephraim Reitman on percussion.  

Naomi and Yumiko will present a piano four hands program mix of Holiday tunes along with classical favorites for the library audience. Both lady performers have played at Fallbrook Library in the past as soloists and with ensembles.

Elegancia doble, as a duo, won the first prize of the 17th Japanese Musician’s Association of California Piano competition in 2016. 

The Christmas program will include:

Russian Dance ‘Trépak’ and
Dance of the Candy Fairy 
from The Nutcracker       Pyotr I. Tchaikovsky

Sleigh Ride                                                                   Leroy Anderson
Samba Triste from Four Piece Suite                          Richard R. Bennett
Ballade No.1 Op. 23                                                     Frédéric Chopin
Dedication (Widmung)                                                 Robert Schumann-Franz Liszt
Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence                                  Ryuichi Sakamoto
Winter in Buenos Aires (Invierno Porteño)                Astor Piazzolla
Libertango                                                                    Astor Piazzolla
(encore) Duet Fantasy on Jingle Bells                       James Pierpont

Yumiko Oya grew up in Tokyo, Japan. She began playing piano at the age of three.  After moving to the US in 1990, she began studying music theory at Orange Coast College. She was invited to play as a soloist, Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No.4 with it’s orchestra at their annual concert.  Further study earned Yumiko her Master’s degree in Piano Performance at the California Institute of the Art.  Since then Yumiko has been actively performing as a soloist and with various ensembles.

Naomi Hobbs was born and raised in Tokyo, Japan.  She earned her Music Degree at the Musashino Academia Musicae in Tokyo, where she taught for ten years.  In 1998, one year before she moved to San Diego, she performed Rachmaninoff’s 2nd Piano Concerto with the Kanagawa Philharmonic Orchestra.  She was the instructor of Music and Piano class at San Diego Community College for Ten years. She was the first prize winner of the 7th International Piano Competition in Mexico in 2012 and the gold medalist of 6th Seattle International Piano Competition in 2015.  Yumiko Oya was born in Osaka, Japan and grew up in Tokyo.  Although Yumiko has been playing the piano since she was three years old, she didn’t pursue it as a career. But after she moved to the U.S. about twenty years ago, she realized that music is a universal language as she went back to college to start off from beginner’s music theory. There, she received her master’s in piano performance. Since then, she has been active playing the piano, in concerts, collaborating with a local orchestra as a soloist, and teaching privately.